“[Bulgakov] burnt the first manuscript of the novel in 1930, seeing no future as a writer in the Soviet Union. The work was restarted in 1931.”

This is not Taco Cabeza.

I’ve been watching Breaking Bad. The image above is a screencap from the finale of the first season.

Sometimes the piled wreckage of the world, even the things I know are poison, or unsolved problems – sometimes it’s all very beautiful. Sometimes that part lifts above the rest. I know I’m not the only person who finds loveliness in bones. This isn’t about beauty in the gruesome, it’s about the garbage. I do know, of course, that I don’t speak from the perspective of those living in the garbage.

[Sometimes I just want to write a goddamn paragraph without feeling like I have to add a string of caveats.]

Occasionally I get wound up in the inconvenience of systems, or the incompatibility of features (when I say occasionally I mean every single day, several times a day, but let’s ignore that). For example, transportation. I haven’t figured out what to do about transportation yet. I don’t really enjoy driving, and I prefer to be eco-friendly. But taking public transportation means encountering a lot more people, and the danger of getting trapped in conversations, not to mention the inconvenience of having to time your journeys to cope with extended routes. So as far as getting from point a to point b goes, until I don’t yet have a self-driving car: I go on foot when I can. When I use public transportation I wear headphones (but often don’t actually listen to music). When I drive, I enjoy how quickly I get places, and how nice it is to be by myself in the car.

[…and consider myself lucky to have options, to be able to walk for pleasure rather than necessity.]

So the transportation system is not yet perfected. And it’s just one of many things I don’t have satisfactorily sorted in my mind, and spend too much time thinking about how to improve or re-organize. But today I realized there’s one thing I do have figured out: cold cereal.

If you like your cereal soggy, the milk-in-the-bowl thing is fine. But I don’t. So, this is my perfect system for cold cereal.

Bowl of cereal.
Glass of milk.
Take a bite of cereal.
Take a sip of milk.

I don’t think this is a particularly orthodox or regulation method for eating cereal, and it might even be considered a bit rude to take a sip of liquid while you still have food in your mouth, but the result is perfection. Crunchy cereal. Cold milk. Deliciousness.

I’d say I’ll let you know when I have everything else figured out, but if I were you, I wouldn’t hold my breath.

